Nova Scotia’s Lieutenant-Governor Arthur J. LeBlanc awarded Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medals to 18 paramedics in January.

Ambulances at the ED

Members of the public or professional peers can nominate emergency medical care professionals for the coveted medal, which was established by Queen Elizabeth II in 1994 to recognize people for their work in high-risk jobs that enhance Canada’s public safety. 

Recipients must have shown their dedication to providing exemplary service for at least 20 years, with at least ten of these years in a position involving some degree of risk. 

Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal 2024 recipients:

David Best, East Village
John Collicott, Amherst
Timothy Colburn, Tatamagouche
Sandee Crooks, Bedford
James Currie, Shelburne
Lyle Donovan, Neil’s Harbour
Allister Edwards, Port Caledonia
Peter Fraser, Barra Head
Ritchie Gilby, Enfield (posthumous)
Eddy Guenette, Parrsboro
Geoffrey Haines, Halifax
Crystal Larkin, Barrington
Parry MacDonald, Antigonish
Lorna Mastin, Middleton
Dan O’Neil, Enfield (posthumous)
William Poole, Gavelton
Scott Veinot, Wilmot
Andrew Walsh, Lantz