Generating New Knowledge

The Dalhousie University Department of Emergency Medicine has consistently demonstrated an exceptional commitment to building research capacity and advancing knowledge in our discipline.

Our investigators have a broad range of research interests that reflect the diverse nature of clinical practice in emergency departments and in pre-hospital care. Several team members conduct research that spans more than one area of interest.

We have developed significant research strength in the following areas:

  • Clinical care in Emergency Medicine
  • EMS and trauma systems
  • Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility
  • Point of care ultrasound
  • Public health and injury prevention
  • Resuscitation and advanced airway management

Our research program incorporates adult and pediatric emergency medicine, trauma, and Emergency Medical Services. This network extends across Maritime Canada (the Maritimes for locals), with sites in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick.

We collaborate closely with colleagues across Canada and the United States, as well as participating in international networks such as the International Federation of Emergency Medicine.  We provide oversight for our residency programs on research and scholarly activities, and our research support team offer their expertise in clinical trial coordination, database management, research administration, grant applications, and Research Ethics Board submissions.

This program is supported by the Dalhousie Emergency Medicine Research Council. The research council executive includes site research coordinators (ex-officio), directors of the Acute Research Unit, and of our residency and fellowship programs, research support staff and faculty researchers..

Our sites and division researchers are national leaders in their spheres of research. To learn more about our research please visit:

The QEII Emergency Medicine Young Researchers Grant is open to Physicians, Nursing Staff, and Paramedics in Emergency Medicine, for more information, please click on the link below:

The Raymond L. Roberts Emergency Medicine Young Researcher’s Grant (EMYRG) Ray Roberts EMYRG

The next deadline for the QEII EMYRG Grant 2024 in the Department of Emergency Medicine is June 6th, 2024, please contact Melissa MacDougall for an application form,

Thank you for your interest in research at the Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University.

Chair & QEII HSC/NSHA, Nova Scotia: Dr. Samuel Campbell, MB BCh, FCFP(EM), Dip PEC(SA), FCCHL, FRCP (Edin), Emergency Physician, QEII, Associate Professor, Dalhousie University.

PEI Health: Dr. Aaron Sibley, MD, FRCPC, DABEM, Emergency Physician, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Charlottetown, PEI.

Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick: Dr. Kavish Chandra, MD MSc CCFP(EM), Assistant Professor, Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University, Emergency Physician, Horizon Health Network, Director of Research, Emergency Medicine, Saint John Regional Hospital

IWK: Dr. Jason Emsley, MD, MSc, FRCPC, PhD, Research Director, Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine, IWK Health Centre.

QEII HSC/NSHA, Nova Scotia: Megi Nallbani, Research Manager, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

IWK: Kelly Ann Trask, Coordinator Research Program, IWK Emergency Department, Dept of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick: Pamela McDougall, Research Coordinator, Department of Emergency Medical Medicine, Saint John Regional Hospital

Head, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dr. Kirk Magee, BSc, MD, MSc, FRCPC, Professor Dalhousie University, Chief Central Zone Network of Emergency Departments NSHA

QEII HSC/NSHA, Nova Scotia: Dr. Janet MacIntyre, MD, FRCPC, Chief, Department of Emergency Medicine, QEII, Emergency Physician/Professor, In-House Paramedics.

IWK: Dr. Katrina Hurley, MD, MHI, FRCPC, Chief Emergency Medicine, IWK Health Centre, Division Head, Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University, IWK Health Centre

Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network, New Brunswick: Dr. Paul Atkinson, MB, MA, FRCPC, Clinical Academic Head, Dept. of Emergency Medicine, Horizon Health Network, Saint John, Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University, Saint John.

Dr. Laurel Murphy, MD, FRCPC, Emergency Physician – QEII
Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University
Royal College Residency Program Director

Dr. Robyn Clouston, MD, CCFP(EM),
Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University
Saint John CCFP(EM) Integrated Emergency Medicine Residency Program Director
Department of Emergency Medicine, Saint John Site

Dr. Ryan Henneberry, BSc, MD, CCFP(EM), FCFP, RDMS, Dip Sports Med
Assistant Professor, Dalhousie University
Dal ESEM (formally CCFP(EM)) Residency Program Director
Emergency Physician – QEII

Dr. Emma Burns, MD, FRCPC, Pediatric Emergency Physician – IWK
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Residency Program Director, Director of Pediatric Point of Care Ultrasound, Education and Administration

Acute Research Unit Director (QEII): Dr. Mary-Lynn Watson, Associate Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine & Continuing Medical Education, Director Acute Research Unit.

Administrative Support

Melissa MacDougall, Research Administrative Assistant, Department of Emergency Medicine, Dalhousie University

Dr. Janet Curran, Clinical Scientist, IWK Health Centre

Dr. James French, Assistant Professor in Emergency Medicine, Chairman, New Brunswick Trauma Program Research Sub-Committee. Area 2 Emergency Simulation Lead, Dalhousie University.  Emergency Physician, Saint John Regional Hospital.